2005 Pewaukee Fall Classic

Team Silverhawk and John Galley Fly to Victory

Report byAndy Burdick

Pewaukee hosted the annual meeting on Friday night and then the annual Fall Classic on Saturday and Sunday. Pete Ogden from Pewaukee organized the event with NCASA leader Todd Haines. An excellent event was enjoyed by 14 boats. Russ Ackley and team ran the racing and they did a fantastic job.

Saturday was a picture perfect day! However, no wind – not a breath. Sunday arrived and it appeared to be the same thing. Then, Russ Ackley politely asked the fleet to launch and head out on the water. 5 minutes after the last boat was splashed a smooth SW breeze filled with gusts to 14mph and we had ideal A scow racing. Two races were completed and it was very, very nice sailing. Fast, tactical and exciting. Perfect A scow racing on Pewaukee.

Our National Champion – Rob Evans won the first heat in style. He and his crew battled with John Galley’s Silverhawk the entire race. An active tacking duel took place up the last beat only to see the boats overlapped at the final windward mark. Evans had a great set and skated away from Silverhawk downwind. As they approached the downwind finish the M-100 team won the race by a few lengths. Silverhawk 2nd and V-8 Harken was 3rd.

Race two blasted off shortly after the first race. A windward end start by Team Silverhawk put them in the lead at the top pin just in front of David Koch / Jay Yaeso and Team Izzie sailed by Todd Haines. On the run Silverhawk increased their lead and for much of the race it was a battle between Koch and Galley’s Silverhawk. Evans was back in the back but battled forward trying to get into the battle for the championship as everyone knew this would be the final race.

Galley took the bullet and the Pewaukee Fall Championship! David Koch and Jay Yaeso were 2nd in the race.

Congratulations to John Galley as he continues his commitment to the NCASA. He just joined the board of directors, jets in from Maine for the exciting racing and promotes the new organization heavily. Nice regatta John.

Here are the top 5

1. John Galley
2. Rob Evans
3. Jay Yaeso / David Koch
4. Jim Klauser
5. John Anderson / Rick Kotovic