Ready To Rumble On Lake Minnetonka, 26 A Scows Assemble For Battle At 2011 ILYA Inland Championship

An impressive twenty-six, ready-to-go, blazing fast A Scows have descended upon Lake Minnetonka for the 2011 ILYA Big Inland Championship, hosted by the Lake Minnetonka Yacht Club. For the A Scow fleet, racing begins officially on August 15th, but in no shape or form does that mean that preparations have yet to begin. By far, the A Scow is one of the deepest and most talented fleets present at the Inland, not to mention one of the fastest and fiercest. All eyes are on this fleet, as the powerful A Scow plans to strut its stuff. Coverage and press regarding the event are generating quite a buzz and the A Scow is the center of attention. Check out this Article and Video from featuring Minnetonka’s Rob Evans’ Cosmic Warrior (M-1) and Kevin Jewett.

Just crowned 2011 U.S. National Champion in late June, Evans is front and center, definitely a favorite to win. Joel Ronning’s Catapult (M-4) looks to be a home town favorite too. Lake Geneva is well represented and has arrived fully prepared with its best arsenal of racers. Buddy Melges and John Anderson will be sailing their iconic Eagle (I-1), Tom Freytag sails his MadCap (I-7) and 2008 A Scow National Champion Terry Blanchard is back in black with Silverhawk (I-28).

Truly the competition will be sensational and there are plenty of outlets for keeping up with all the goings on. Stay tuned to the Official Event Website, ‘LIKE’ the Inland 2011 on Facebook and be sure to checkout LIVE Media Coverage from all the courses as the event unfolds.

2011 A Scow Entry List (As of August 11, 2011)
1.) Gary Relter, Cindy Lou (C-21)
2.) Buddy Melges/John Anderson, Eagle (I-1)
3.) Tom Freytag, MadCap (I-7)
4.) Tom Whowell, G Force (I-12)
5.) Mike Keefe, Ajax (I-26)
6.) Terry Blanchard, Silverhawk (I-28)
7.) Chuck Lamphere, White Magic (I-96)
8.) Bill Wyman, Legacy (J-5)
9.) Jay Yaeso, Adrenaline (J-311)
10.) Rob Evans, Cosmic Warrior (M-1)
11.) John Dennis, Lucky (M-2)
12.) Joel Ronning, Catapult (M-4)
13.) Judson Dayton/Tom Burton, Instigator  (M-8)
14.) Jack Strotherman, Animal House (M-10)
15.) Patrick Hughes, Melvin (M-21)
16.) Carl Zinn, Amazinn (M-35)
17.) Harry/Emily Allen, Shady Lady (M-55)
18.) Jonathan McDonagh, Champosa (M-64)
19.) Dave Decker, Flying Wasp (V-0)
20.) Matt Weber, Stealth (V-8)
21.) Brian Henke, Fast Forward (V-57)
22.) Jim Klauser/Todd Haines, Valkyrie (V-999)
23.) Mike & Will Crary/Eddie Cox, Type A (W-3)
24.) Steve Johnson, Gryphon (W-7)
25.) Lee Alnes, Euphoria (W-25)
26.) Larry/Hill Pardy/Hill, Asylum (W-88)